Sweet White Wine & Carrot Gazpacho

Posted on July 9, 2011

1



This is my very first Gazpacho. I think it was quite a success: refreshing, hearty, spicy, and sweet! I’ve had the dish once before, at a party in my middle school Spanish class. I thought the idea of spooning cold chunky tomato-ish soup into my mouth was disgusting. But, today I’m happy to report that I’ve finally matured appreciating Gazpacho. It’s foundation can be modified upon and I look forward to making more versions.

This one lacks a key ingredient: cucumbers, but there just weren’t any organic and intriguing cukes today.

I went to the farmer’s market hopeful, and left heavy laden with full bags of produce. I mostly purchased a lot of sweet tomatoes. I talked some with the farmer, who offered me tastes of both of his variety. I opted for the less popular, less attractive, yet sweeter and tastier type. He threw in a couple more for free. Really sweet.

So, I used what was at hand and made a gazpacho-esque, summer soup, fit for the farmers.

Sweet (and Spicy!) White Wine & Carrot Gazpacho

4 halved small-medium sweet variety tomatoes

1/4 C.olive oil

2 T. white wine

1 t. fresh ground pepper

1 t. sea salt

1 clove garlic

1 half jalapeño (take the seeds out for a milder taste, with them it’s pretty spicy)

2 carrots chopped well

1 handful fresh cilantro roughly chopped

2 tomatoes chopped

Place the first 7 ingredients in a blender and blend just until pulverized. It combines pretty quickly. Add water if it needs to be smoother. Then mix in the remaining ingredients by hand. Garnish with a pinch of fresh ground pepper and a few cilantro leaves.

There you have it: a perfect meal for a hot summer’s evening.

Gazpacho: A Super Brief History

This soup is famously from the Andulasian  region of Spain, but it’s roots stretch much further away. The concept for it, most likely came along to Spain with the Moors. The Arabs had a popular dish made of bread soaked in olive oil and garlic. In Spain farmers added veggies to the mix to get a more hearty meal. Today traditional gazpachos are still made with soaked stale bread, and also cucumbers, bell pepper, onion, garlic, olive oil, wine, and vinegar.

Posted in: Recipes