Cantaloupe Icy & Rejuvelac

Posted on June 22, 2011

3



So it seems I’ve been on this slushy ice tip lately. I think it’s the heat. With the first week of summer on the calendar here, the first week of summer in the air has come too. It has been hot! Like, sweating when you’re just sitting outside kind of hot, sleeping without covers hot, and drinking A LOT of liquids hot.

This morning I didn’t have the usual ingredients I use for my green smoothies. I thought about what I did have and became instantly inspired. I could use my remaining rejuvelac and that luscious organic cantaloupe and blend it with ice to make a Cantaloupe Icy. So that is exactly what I did.

I like Cantaloupe, but I fall in love with Cantaloupe flavored things. I think I first realized its incredible sweet pungency and beautiful capabilities in a sorbet. Alone, it’s great when super sweet, don’t get me wrong, that surely is a wonderful thing unto itself. Yet, for some reason Cantaloupe set against a new backdrop magnifies its greatness ten-fold.

So, I was excited to get this thing in the blender this morning.

I put about 3 cups of roughly chunked, de-rinded, de-seeded, orange fruit flesh in the blender with about one cup of Rejuvelac* and 6-8 ice cubes. Then pressed the button letting the appliance produce a light orange icy sludge.

It’s so simple and so refreshing. The cantaloupe reduces into a soft velvety texture, which is offset by the cold crunch of ice. And, there’s a slight bite from the ‘juvelac that helped the whole thing to marry.

So here’s to Summer!~

*Rejuvelac

This is something I’ve only recently come into cahoots with, but am glad that I did. It’s light and refreshing, and so simple. It’s more like a healthful elixir than a beverage, because it works wonders for the digestion. So, what is it?  It’s a fermented water, made with grain. Most common is for wheat berries to be used, but almost any grain will do. It can be made with barley, quinoa, oats, or rye.

And, it’s easy to make.

I haven’t done it myself, just yet, but I’ve started my research, and  I’ve found two different approaches as to how to do it.

Either you can soak your grain, or sprout your grain. In both methods you first want to rinse your grains. Also use 3/4 cup of grain, which will expand to a cup. This will make a gallon (use a gallon of water). It is also fine to cut the recipe down, or use more grain to water, this will only make a more powerful rejuvelac. If at any time the grains or water smell putrid discard and try again.

Soak Method:

Leave grain in water for 12 hours, covered with cheesecloth or a paper towel so it can breathe. Pour off the soak water and refill, soaking this time for 2-5 days, twirling it once to twice a day. When a light foam is evident around the top it’s ready. (In hot weather it may only take 24 hrs.). Sieve the mixture keeping only the liquid in the fridge. It’ll last about a week, and sweetens over time, supposedly. The grains can be sued for a second batch, but not a third. And, this next batch takes only 24-36 hrs. to ferment.

Sprout Method:

Soak grains overnight, and pour the liquid off in the morning. Lay the covered (cheesecloth) jar on its side and allow tails to form (this is called sprouting). Leave out of the sun so the grains think they’re in the soil. Let sit 1-3 days, rinsing often so grain doesn’t dry out. Fill up with water and let sit 1-2 days until the foam occurs. Refrigerate and throw out the grain.

Posted in: Recipes