Raw Carrot Lemon Cupcakes

Posted on May 23, 2011

2



I have been interested in raw foods for awhile. And, when I got my first dehydrator for my birthday this year I felt like raw food would become an official stamp on my diet. I believe whole-heartedly in the enzymes and the nourishment that come from sprouting, and lightly dehydrating raw organic foods. And, attempting non-raw traditional courses in the raw is fun!

I believe eating as much raw foods in your diet is the best. I’m not a 100% raw girl though, no not at all, well once, but then I missed cheese and sushi. I love food so being completely raw doesn’t fit in with the entire world of gourmet, and I want to be in line with the whole she-bang. As a side note, raw doesn’t mean vegan as many people assume. Raw, unpasteurized milk and cheese are available! Raw whole milk opened my world. I’d never liked that cup of milk my mom set down at the dinner table night after night, the tasteless, watery non-fat stuff was not my cup of…milk. But this creamy raw whole milk, that comes in a glass bottle. Oh yeah that’s what’s up. But that’s another story. Milk is a deep pocketed subject.

So, I’ve been experimenting with the raw foods, and I’ve had some failures so far. I can’t yet make a raw cracker that stays crunchy, or that I even like for that matter. My buckwheat won’t gets waterlogged and won’t sprout. And my attempt with raw potato chips, got me at the grocery store buying a brown bag of Kettle’s.

But, there have been successes, mostly in the world of sweets where I usually gravitate towards in the kitchen anyways. This recipe is simple. It doesn’t even call for a dehydrator so all ya’ll can make it! You do need a juicer though. Oh yeah, raw food making is all about the appliances.

These cupcakes have the best frosting ever. My boyfriend tried them and said he liked them better than regular cupcakes, and he likes McDonalds, so that should tell you their power.

These are healthy, and easy on the sweetness. The batter is mostly carrot, with spice, zest, dates, and nuts, and coconut and almond serving as the flours. The frosting is super lemony, creamy and rich!

This recipes only made five full sized cupcakes, but that’s all you need unless your having a party triple the recipe.

Raw Carrot Lemon Cupcakes

adapted from The Bee’s Knees Kitchen

1 cup carrot pulp (from juicing about 3 carrots)

1/2 cup almond meal (can be made in a blender)

1/4 cup coconut flour (use dried coconut and put in the blender till powdery)

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

3 large dates (chopped) *

1 tbs. Lemon zest

1 tsp. Stevia

1 tsp. cinnamon

Frosting

1/3 cup cashew flour

juice of 1 lemon

2 tps. coconut oil. (softened)

1 tbsp. Agave

1/2 tsp. Stevia

* If your dates are dry soak them for 15min. before chopping.

Prepare your cupcake pan with papers. Mix all the cake ingredients together and massage the dates in turning the dough into a cohesive mass. Make uniform balls the size of your cupcakes and put nicely into the papers. Place in the fridge and make the frosting. After you’ve blended your cashew flour add the juice, oil, agave, and stevia and blend till smooth. Take your cupcakes our of the fridge and spoon frosting over the tops. Place back in the fridge for 10 min. Then, consume.

Posted in: Recipes