Artistry

Posted on April 12, 2011

0


I’ve been exploring, constantly, my thoughts as an artist. Since I graduated in May 2010, with a brand new perspective on art and my creative vision I’ve been ever-expanding that which I gained.

What I learned is forever ingrained within me. My new informative self has been yanked into the conversation of art. In the West we like to talk about art and analyze every inch of it, for all that it’s worth. That’s why museums are full of white walls and monochromatic paintings. wow. It is sort of ironic though, I mean the word creativity doesn’t always factor into the art we see these days.

The explanations of art are oftentimes more creative than the art itself. I was in a gallery the other day at an abstract exhibit and I listened in to two ladies having a conversation about a small work on the wall. They went on for quite a while talking about the image having a “narrative” and isn’t the “placement interesting” and on and on. I walked over after they meandered away to behold a small canvas of brownish black, with about seven randomly placed white dots the size of marbles. I laughed inside. Art can seem so ridiculous. Sometimes it’s frustrating, but sometimes awe-inspiring.

The art door is wide open, or rather ripped from its hinges. Anything can be called art today, and even revered. But there is a delicate line between fitting into the conversation and not. It’s impossible to know how to get yourself onto the right side. I believe that simply being myself as best as I can will suffice to my success as a human. So here I go. I The art world has expanded like the big bang. If I want to catch the wave of the art movement I need to be as big as that, as big as I am, and follow my unique voice.

So, like a simple circle I am back at the beginning of this blog post: I think about my art everyday.

I bet you’re wondering what my art is all about now? Well, I’ll get to that now.

I see the world with my discerning hawklike eyes and my heart. I am interested in humanity and people and our connection to nature. I think of my art as a sum of myself. It encompasses all of my deep philosophical ideas and musings about life. It also has to be visually appealing. I have been drawing in school my entire life, striving for likeness, color, and beauty and I don’t believe I need to throw that away. I love my artistic skill, but now I know art goes beyond that, yet still I want to hold onto my childhood and youth (in many ways). And, to me, that’s a great thing. (But that’s another can of worms).

1) I’m interested in the body, because all humans have one, but specifically the inside, because therein lies the mystery and awe. I have been interested in visually expressing the complexity and beauty of the material inside our bodies (organs, etc.) since I have always been interested in anatomy. Yet, that expression is to be adorned with a spiritual element in connection to our bodies’ processes. The feelings associated with living are full and that is something I have been interested in lately. Exploring the detail true to form, and the mysterious functioning of the heart, the lungs, our bones etc.

2) Most recently I’ve started sketching details of the natural world, but magnified: the creases in my foot, the nub on a stick, a flower petal, the iris of my cat.I have planned to paint these on enormous wood panels, which are carved with detail too.

I love texture and materiality. These are two components I really emerged from school with an affinity for. Like my project above, texture draws you into another world. It becomes the detail two inches away from your nose that draws you in and keeps you in wonder.

Posted in: Art